• Remove ads on the forum by becoming a donating member. More here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

What's the Camino like right now?

sarahbtravel

Time of past OR future Camino
Hi peregrinos! I am a UK travel writer and keen walker. I am writing a piece about the Camino for a national UK newspaper and I am keen to know what it's like out there on the trail right now?

I've heard it's pretty crowded, and that some pilgrims are behaving disrespectfully, treating it more like a party than a walk. Is that the experience on the ground? Have you seen bad behaviour? Do the locals seen resentful? Or is it still an amazing experience?

I hope it's OK to post this here. I would love to hear your thoughts – which I would use to inform my article, if that's OK.

Thanks!

€2,-/day will present your project to thousands of visitors each day. All interested in the Camino de Santiago.
My experience is from May this year, a month that is quite busy, but not the busiest month for the most problematic section. Here's my thoughts:

- The Xunte de Galicia has been promoting the final stretch of the camino heavily for years, especially so the last 100km.
- The last 100km, especially from Sarria are very popular for all kind of different groups
- A very large portion of those groups are spanish citizens
- Not all walk that stretch for religious or spiritual reasons. While i was told, that the rumor about people wanting a compostela for their CV is indeed a rumor, theres lots of school classes or assosciations that walk the 100km and i am bold and say: not every participant is doing so voluntarily.
- Having travelled to spain for around 35 of my 42 years, i would be so bold to say that in a very general term the Spanish are not the quietest of folks out there, specially the younglings. There also seems to be some difference between what the law says and how it is interpreted in daily use.