• Remove ads on the forum by becoming a donating member. More here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

BUDGET 2025 - Chemin du Puy (GR65) to Santiago 1 adult 2 kids :)

KatKatGo

Time of past OR future Camino
Hello, NEWBIE here :)

I am hoping - after an eon of wanting to do the Camino - to start in Le Puy and walk the Chemin du Puy / Via Podiensis / GR65, then the Frances all the way to Santiago, next year / 2025, myself and my two then 11 year old boys.

Hoping to straddle all the reasonable weather so assuming June-August, allowing a generous 90 days for all.

KMs: Hoping to start slow and small and increase our Kms as we get into the flow of it. We will take some "half days" for rest and the chance to explore where we stop rather than full rest days as it seems from what I've read that a full day off can negatively impact the momemtum. But I'm hopeful 90 days will give us the leeway to stop as and when we need to - including the odd full day.

BUDGET: This is where I am finding it hard... from what I read, it would seem that 50 euros per day per person is ideal on the Frances, but that on the Chemin du Puy, we need to allow more. HOW do people budget with children? I am assuming full cost for each of us so basically I will need to budget for x 3 persons? Should we come to a point where accommodation is tight - I am hoping if necessary I can negotiate for the boys to sleep top to tail if they only have 2 beds left (do they allow this?), but would of course pay the full tariff given food and amenity usage would still be x3. I can fudge the budget for any picnics we take as both my boys do not eat like a full adult - but I cannot guarantee this given how active we will be and they are growing.

Any guidance on how to account for one adult and two kids in budgeting, for the Chemin du Puy and the Frances - will be enormously helpful for this Mama's spreadsheet.

By way of background, we are coming from Australia so for us the exchange rate is not as favourable.