Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Short Walk - worth it?

angelica123

Sep 16, 2022
United States
Time of past OR future Camino
Camino de Ingles (October 2022)
Hello all! I am going to be in Spain but only for two weeks, meeting up with a friend for one week. The other week, I'd like to do a short Camino walk but I have never done it before. Would you recommend doing this route to test it out? Or would you recommend another shorter walk (like the Camino Ingles or a portion of the other routes)? I've never done the Camino before and would like to use this as a way to see if I could do a longer camino. Any advice appreciated!

3rd Edition. More content, training & pack guides avoid common mistakes, bed bugs etc

trecile

Staff member
Feb 19, 2016
Southern Oregon
Francés, Norte, Salvador, Primitivo, Portuguese
For me, any time on the Camino is worth it!
I would probably choose the Camino Inglés over walking to Fisterra/Muxía. There's something very special about arriving in Santiago with your fellow pilgrims.

Ideal pocket guides for during & after your Camino. Each weighs only 1.4 oz (40g)!
Jan 19, 2016
Suburb of Boston, Mass., USA
Us:Camino Frances, 2015 Me:Catalan/Aragonese, 2019
Finisterre & Muxia is a pleasant walk but, in my opinion, it has a different feel to it than a "regular" camino. Although you can walk it to Santiago to qualify for a compostela (if done correctly) I say you should save it for a walk to the sea following walking a different camino.

trecile

Staff member
Feb 19, 2016
Southern Oregon
Francés, Norte, Salvador, Primitivo, Portuguese
You can choose any section of any Camino that you wish, but I would prefer to finish in Santiago for the experience. However as @Rick of Rick and Peg said the Fisterra/MuxĂ­a route has a different feel to it.

SabsP

Veteran Member
Feb 18, 2010
Belgium
some and then more. see my signature.
The Ingles is a perfect mini Camino and indeed with the bonus and joy of arriving in Santiago.