• Remove ads on the forum by becoming a donating member. More here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

My perfect ultralight sleep setup

Anhalter

Veteran Member
Time of past OR future Camino
2019 CF, 2022 CF, 2024 Primitivo
Hey everyone,

i guess I'm not good at starting threads, but rather comment. I guess my last "own" thread is the one a couple of years ago where i talked about my 3,6kg loadout for the Camino Frances (see signature).

Today i felt like opening a new one, since 2 Caminos after my last thread i solved a problem that bugged my since Camino #1... the perfect sleep setup.

TL;DR: Bergstop Microstretch liner + something warm (blanket, sleeping bag...). Google it, it's great.

Disclaimer: Nobody paid me to write this. I bought every item with my own money. What i write is my personal opinion, your milage may vary. Also english is not my first language.

So, a little history:

My first camino was 2019. I had no idea how i could get below that magic 10% mark. A couple of weeks into my research, i stumbled across an ultralight forum. I set out on my first camino with a backpack of 4,6kg (which is pretty close to 5%...).
Not everything worked perfectly. I sent home stuff about 600g. My insulation system did not work as i had intended it to. But overall, it worked reaaallllly well. Like when we arrived into town, i was having so much energy left compared to the other guys carrying twice as much, it felt a little scary. I remember well, when i arrived in Santiago the first time, one, of many, of my thoughts was: "this was to easy".
But, aside from insulation, a big issue i had was my ultralight sleeping bag. I think its discontinued now, but it was the Sea2Summit Spark 0. Something along the lines of 250g, high class down, not meant to sleep outdoors. VERY narrow. 1/3 zipper.