• Remove ads on the forum by becoming a donating member. More here.

Search 69,459 Camino Questions

Another Newbie

Time of past OR future Camino
Portugues Sep 2024
Hi everyone! I am new on this forum (but have been reading threads here for a while) and will be starting for my first Camino on September 16. I will be starting in Porto with the Portuguese coastal and then switch to the central somewhere along the way.

I share my time between Spain and Germany and am currently in Spain for the whole summer, so I started training in the heat to get used to it, as well as carrying my backpack with all my stuff while walking with my poles (I feel a bit weird though doing so in my village.. everyone and their dogs asking me what the heck I am doing.. not many pilgrims around here in Mijas 😅).

I am an urban sketcher and always carry a travel sketchbook with me, so you bet there will be a Camino travel sketchbook in my pack. This is btw how I came to the decision to walk the Camino. I participated in Compostela Illustrada in Santiago in November 2022 (I highly recommend it to anyone who dabbles with pens, pencils, watercolors, markers etc…) and visiting Santiago de Compostela, and meeting many pilgrims who told me about their camino, was an incredible experience. From then on, the idea of starting the journey never left my mind.

I only have 2 weeks at my disposition this year so the Portuguese it will be.

The one from Galicia (the round) and the one from Castilla & Leon. Individually numbered and made by the same people that make the ones you see on your walk.
I am an urban sketcher and always carry a travel sketchbook with me, so you bet there will be a Camino travel sketchbook in my pack.
Fantastic, please share your sketches from the camino with us! I am a fan of urban sketching and did a bit of beginner dabbling in it during the pandemic. I’d like to get back to trying it again at some point but unfortunately other priorities are taking precedence at the moment.